EL CÍRCULO DEL LICEO.

El Círculo del Liceo, founded in 1847 by 125 members, is an exclusive Private Club in the english style which at present has more than 900 members. It is the oldest Club of its kind in Spain and still occupies its original premises.

"... El Círculo del Liceo has a unique artistic heritage, with one of the most important groups of modernist paintings in Spain, an important collection of art works ..."

It shares a symbolic building with the Gran Teatre del Liceu de Barcelona, with which it has a common origin, but it is an association totally independent of the Theatre and a place of reference for the social and cultural life of Barcelona and Catalonia. Every year it is the venue for many occasions, recitals, concerts, conferences, presentations of prizes, fiestas and celebrations in which the members take part with personalities from the cultural life of Barcelona and from other parts of Spain.

El Círculo del Liceo has a unique artistic heritage, with one of the most important groups of modernist paintings in Spain, an important collection of art works, especially painting and sculpture, unequalled in Barcelona for its importance and excellent state of preservation:

- A set of murals, 12 oils on canvas by Ramón Casas, in “La Rotonda”, inspired in musical themes. Ramón Casas also designed and decorated this little room, which has been preserved until today without significant changes. In the oil “El automóvil” we see in the distance the orchestra playing in the pavilion which the Círculo del Liceo exhibited for the Universal Exhibition of 1888.

- The well-known “Fish bowl”, with a fabulous view of the Rambla, decorated by Josep Pascó (1901-1903) and with murals by Oleguer Junyent.

- The four famous stained-glass windows were installed in the vestibule in 1905, works by Oleguer Junyent, Josep Pey and A. Bordalba, testimony to the tremendous influence of Wagner in Catalan culture in the early twentieth century, and the role of the Círculo in introducing Wagner to Catalonia.

Schmitz Roth

Carrer d'Alacant, 28.
08022 Barcelona.
España.

+34 666 404 215
info@schmitzroth.com

DER „CÍRCULO DEL LICEO”.

Im Jahr 1847 wurde dieser gehobene private Club - im Stile eines englischen Clubs - von 125 Mitgliedern gegründet. Der „Círculo de Liceo“ hat heute mehr als 900 Mitglieder und ist der älteste Club seiner Art in Spanien.

"... Der „Círculo de Liceo” verfügt über ein einzigartiges kunsthistorisches Erbe, zu dem eine der wichtigsten Sammlungen Spaniens modernistischer Kunstwerken zählt ..."

Der „Círculo del Liceo” und das Opernhaus teilen sich seit ihrer zeitgleichen Gründung ein symbolträchtiges Gebäude: das „Gran Teatro del Liceu“, wobei der Club ein unabhängiger Verein und Bezugspunkt für das soziale und kulturelle Leben Barcelonas und Kataloniens war und heute noch ist. Jährlich finden dort verschiedene Veranstaltungen wie Konzerte, Konferenzen, Preisverleihungen und Ehrungen statt, an denen sowohl die Mitglieder, als auch angesehene Persönlichkeiten teilnehmen.

Der „Círculo de Liceo” verfügt über ein einzigartiges kunsthistorisches Erbe, zu dem eine der wichtigsten Sammlungen Spaniens modernistischer Kunstwerke zählt. Die Gemälde und Skulpturen sind allein wegen ihrer Bedeutung für die Stadt und ihres Erhaltungszustandes absolut einmalig:

- Ein außergewöhnliches Ensemble von 12 Wandgemälden des Malers Ramón Casas, inspiriert von der Musik, hängt im Saal „La Rotonda”. Ramón Casas nahm an Planung und Ausstattung des Saales teil. Der Saal ist seither kaum verändert worden. Auf dem Gemälde „El Automóvil” erkennt man in der Ferne das Orchester, das während der Weltausstellung von 1888 im Pavillon des „Círculo del Liceo” spielte.

- Die bekannte „Pecera”- wörtlich „Goldfischglas“ - mit einer fabelhaften Aussicht auf die Ramblas, dekoriert von Josep Pascó (1901-1903) und mit Wandgemälden von Oleguer Junyent.

- Die vier berühmten Kirchenfenster im Foyer (1905), ein Kunstwerk von Oleguer Junyent, Josep Pey und A. Bordalba, stark “wagnerianisch” beeinflusst. Der „Círculo del Liceo” gilt als der Einführer der Musik Wagners in Katalonien. Auch heute noch ist das „Gran Teatro del Liceu“ eine Referenz für die Musik R. Wagners.

Schmitz Roth

Carrer d'Alacant, 28.
08022 Barcelona.
España.

+34 666 404 215
info@schmitzroth.com