Barcelona, with its outstanding geographical location and great cultural, architectural and gastronomic attractions is also a point of reference for Opera in Europe, since it has one of the finest opera houses in the world, a cultural symbol of the city: the Gran Teatre del Liceu, now the leading European theatre in the Italian format in number of seats and second in the world.

OPERA IN BARCELONA.

In the 19th century, the need to create a music conservatory in a Barcelona in full economic and demographic expansion led in 1838 to the conversion of the “Sociedad Dramática de Aficionados” into the “Liceo Filarmónico Dramático Barcelonés de H.M. Isabel II”, who added the Italian style of singing and music to the cultivation of theatre. Its success, together with the determination of a distinguished group of the Barcelona bourgeoisie, led by Joaquim de Gispert i d’Anglí, resulted in a new and ambitious theatre, worthy of the city’s importance and which has lasted for more than a century and a half, being built on the site of the old Trinitarian Monastery on the Rambla.

The inaugural performance was on 4 April 1847, a programme including a symphony by Joan Melcior Gomis, the drama Don Fernando de Antequera by Ventura de la Vega, an Andalusian-style dance entitled Rondeña by the composer Josep Jurch, and Il Regio Imene, a cantata in Italian by Joan Cortada with music by Marià Obiols.

After a first stage in which opera was part of the artistic activity, together with many drama performances, concerts and variety numbers, it became a prestigious opera theatre.

The first opera given, Anna Bolena de Donizetti, was already a symptom of the taste for bel canto and romantic Italian drama of the moment (Rossini, Donizetti, Bellini, Verdi, etc.), which has remained in the repertory throughout the years, together with French grand opera (Auber, Meyerbeer, Halévy), now forgotten, and later French composers, such as Gounod, Bizet, Massenet and Saint-Saëns, who have been maintained.

1883 marked the appearance of Wagner, one of the composers most loved and valued by the public of the Liceu, and who has given the theatre some extraordinary moments. Verismo, especially in the figure of Puccini, since the end of the 19th century, has been a much appreciated school and also, after 1915, Russian opera (Mussorgski, Rimsky-Korsakov, Tchaikovsky).

In the second half of the 20th century, the repertory concentrated more on the most popular titles worldwide and also gave nearly all the other great composers of the century: Bartok, Honegger, Gershwin, Berg, Janacek, Weill, Shostakovich, Prokofiev, Britten, Schönberg, Hindemith, etc., and has also exhumed baroque and classical composers such as Monteverdi, Handel and Gluck.

The finest voices of all times, among them outstanding Catalans such as Victoria de los Ángeles, Montserrat Caballé, Jaume Aragall and Josep Carreras, as well as Enrico Caruso, Maria Callas and Luciano Pavarotti and the best conductors and production designers, have all performed in this great theatre.

" ... we are the only agency which organizes premium stays particularly for visitors ... "

Schmitz Roth

Carrer d'Alacant, 28.
08022 Barcelona.
España.

+34 666 404 215
info@schmitzroth.com

Barcelona ist dank seiner bevorzugten Lage, dem grossen kuturellen, architektonischen und gastronomischen Angebot auch ein europäischer Bezugspunkt in der Opernwelt, zumal sie eines der emblematischsten Gebäude und Wahrzeichen der Stadt beherbergt: das Opernhaus “ Gran Teatre del Liceu”. Derzeit ist das “ Liceu” das Opernhaus im italienischen Stil mit den meisten Sitzplätzen Europas.

DIE OPER IN BARCELONA.

Im 19.Jahrhundert brachte die wirtschaftliche und demographische Expansion die Stadt Barcelona dazu, ein Musikkonservatorium zu gründen, sodass 1838 das philarmonische dramatische Lyzeum Barcelonas Ihrer Majestät Königin Isabel II entstand. Sein Erfolg und der Wille führender Mitglieder des Bürgertums Barcelonas, insbesondere des Herrn Joaquim de Gispert i d´Anglí, führten zur Erbauung eines grossen und ehrgeizigen Opernhauses, der Bedeutsamkeit der Stadt würdig, das mehr als ein Jahrhundert auf dem Grundstück des ehemaligen Klosters der Trinitarier überdauert hat.

Am 4.April 1847 fand die Eröffnungsvorstellung mit einer Sinfonie von Joan Melcior Gomis statt, ein Drama von Fernando el de Antequera de Ventura de la Vega, ein andalusischer Tanz genannt “ Rondeña” und eine Cantata auf italienisch von Joan Cortada und Musik von Marià Obiols, genannt “il Regio Imene”.

Nach einer ersten Etappe in der die Oper nur einen Teil der künstlerischen Aktivität vertrat, zusammen mit Theateraufführungen und Konzerten, entwickelte es sich nach und nach zu einem geschätzten Opernhaus.

Die erste Oper, die vorgestellt wurde, Anna Bolena von Donizetti, ist ein erstes Symptom der Begeisterung für den “ bel canto”, sowie für die italienischen, romantischen Dramen der Zeit (Rossini, Donizetti, Bellini, Verdi, ect..), die bis heute zusammen mit der späteren französischen Oper (Gounod, Bizzet, Masenet oder Saint-Saëns) andauert, während andere französiche Autoren wie Auber, Meyerbeer und Halévy in Vergessenheit geraten sind.

Das Jahr 1883 wird durch das Erscheinen Wagners geprägt, einer der beliebtesten und angesehendsten Komponisten des “Liceu”, der dem Opernhaus ausserordentliche Augenblicke gegeben hat. Der Verismus, speziell in der Figur Puccinis, ist ebenso seit Ende des 19.Jahrhunderts sehr geschätzt und seit 1915 auch die russische Oper(Mussorgski, Rimski-Kórsakov, Txaikovsky).

In der zweiten Hälfte des 20.Jahrhunderts konzentrierte sich das Programm eher auf die vertrauten Titel, es wurden aber auch alle anderen grossen Komponisten des Jahrhunderts vorgestellt: Bartók, Honegger, Gershwin, Berg, Janácek, Weill, Shostakovich, Prokofiev, Britten, Schönberg, Hindemith, sowie barocke und klassische Komponisten wie Monteverdi, Händel und Gluck.

Die besten Stimmen aller Zeiten, unter denen sich auch katalanische befinden, wie Victoria de los Ángeles, Montserrat Caballé, Jaume Aragall oder Josep Carreras, sowie Enrico Caruso, Maria Callas oder Luciano Pavarotti zusammen mit den grössten Dirigenten, sind auf dieser Bühne gestanden.

" ... ist das einzige Reisebüro, das PREMIUM-Aufenthalte für deutschsprachige Besucher organisiert ... "

Schmitz Roth

Carrer d'Alacant, 28.
08022 Barcelona.
España.

+34 666 404 215
info@schmitzroth.com